Embaixada de Portugal
Home English Portugal Korean Sitemap
Ministerio dos Negocios Estrangeiros
Instituto Camoes
Basic Information Home >About Portugal >Basic Information


  • Official name - Portuguese Republic
  • Independence - 1143 (Kingdom of Portugal recognised)
  • Proclamation of the Republic - 1910
  • Political system - republic; parliamentary democracy
  • National symbols - National Flag and National Anthem
  • National day - 10th of June – Day of Portugal, Camões and the Portuguese Communities
  • Languages - Portuguese and mirandês. The Portuguese language is the official language in seven other countries and it is spoken by over 200 million people.
  • Constitutional System - President of the Portuguese Republic (elected by popular vote for a five-year term, eligible for a second term), Parliament (elected by popular vote every four years), Government (appointed by the President, taking into account the results of the Parliamentary elections), Courts (Constitutional Court; Supreme Court of Justice; specialized superior Courts [Administrative and Accounts], first instance and second instance Courts)
  • Political parties represented in Parliament - Social Democratic Party or PSD; Portuguese Socialist Party or PS; Democratic and Social Centre/Popular Party or CDS/PP; Portuguese Communist Party or PCP; The Left Bloc or BE; Green Ecologist Party /The Greens) or PEV
  • Administrative divisions - 18 Districts and two Autonomous Regions (Azores and Madeira)
  • Partidos politicos representados no parlamento - Partido Socialista, Partido Social Democrata, Partido Comunista Portugues, Partido Popular, Bloco de Esquerda, Partido Ecologista Os Verdes
  • Divisão territorial - duas Regiões Autónomas (Açores e Madeira) e 18 distritos no Continente
  • Capital - Lisboa
  • Area - 92,090 km2
  • Population - 10,706 millions (2011)
  • Active population - 5,587 millions (2011)
  • Population per km2 - 115 (2007)
  • Currency - Euro
  • Gross Domestic Product - 167,5 million Eur (2010)
  • GDP per capita - 18 826 Eur (2009)